Suffolk County DWI Lawyer Jason Bassett Explains the Possible Defenses to Felony Charges in New York State

March 21, 2022 at 22:32

Suffolk County DWI lawyer Jason Bassett (https://jbassettlaw.com/what-is-considered-aggravated-assault-under-new-york-state-law/) releases a new article explaining the possible defenses for felony charges in New York State. The lawyer mentions that under the law in New York, there are three crimes labeled as forms of aggravated assault. These are aggravated vehicular assault, aggravated assault upon a police officer, aggravated assault upon a person less than 11 years old.

“If a weapon is alleged to be involved in an assault, it will be a felony charge. If a person is accused of causing an injury with a deadly weapon or a dangerous instrument, they will be charged with Assault in the Second Degree (Penal Law 120.05-2), which is a Class D violent felony. If a person is accused of causing a serious physical injury with a deadly weapon or a dangerous instrument will be charged with Assault in the First Degree (Penal Law 120.10-1), which is a Class B violent felony,” says the Suffolk County DWI lawyer.

Suffolk County DWI lawyer

The lawyer explains that for an aggravated vehicular assault, a person is charged if they engaged in reckless driving. It will be a Vehicular Assault in the Second Degree if the individual was engaged in reckless driving with a few other factors. These factors include driving with a 0.18 percent BAC or blood alcohol content, driving with a suspended or revoked license, and having been convicted of vehicular manslaughter.

Attorney Jason Bassett also mentions that the second kind of felony aggravated assault is the Aggravated Assault Upon a Police Officer or a Peace Officer. This happens when someone intends to cause serious physical injury to a person who they knew or reasonably have known was a police officer or a peace officer.

In the article, attorney Bassett adds that the third kind of aggravated assault is the Aggravated Assault Upon a Person Less than 11 Years Old. This happens when a person is charged with misdemeanor assault upon a person who is less than 11 years old. A person who had been previously convicted of this type of assault within the preceding 10 years is more likely to be charged with this type of assault.

Lastly, the lawyer emphasizes the importance of having a skilled defense attorney when facing charges of aggravated assault in New York. Having an experienced attorney may be able to help the client understand their rights and responsibilities in the case and hopefully help them protect their freedom.

About Jason Bassett DWI Lawyer

Attorney Jason Bassett has over 21 years of experience in working with the law. He has dedicated his work to those who are accused of state crimes and federal crimes. He may also be able to help people who may require the help of an experienced criminal lawyer. Attorney Bassett brings his experience and skills to ensure that his clients receive the best possible outcomes for their cases. To schedule a consultation, call (631) 259-6060.

###

For more information about The Law Offices of Jason Bassett | Criminal Defense Attorney, contact the company here:

The Law Offices of Jason Bassett | Criminal Defense Attorney
Jason Bassett
(631) 259-6060
bassettlaw@live.com
Criminal Attorney Jason Bassett
320 Carleton Ave #4200,
Central Islip, NY 11722

FacebookTwitterGoogleDiggRedditLinkedIn

Latest News

Stock Quotes for Arlington

Weather Forecast for Arlington